You are here: Yoga/ Sports Chess



Chess is a two-player strategy board game played on a chessboard, a checkered gameboard with 64 squares arranged in an eight-by-eight grid.Chess is played by millions of people worldwide, both amateurs and professionals.
Each player begins the game with 16 pieces: one king, one queen, two rooks, two knights, two bishops, and eight pawns. Each of the six piece types moves differently. The most powerful piece is the queen and the least powerful piece is the pawn. The objective is to 'checkmate' the opponent's king by placing it under an inescapable threat of capture. To this end, a player's pieces are used to attack and capture the opponent's pieces, while supporting their own. In addition to checkmate, the game can be won by voluntary resignation by the opponent, which typically occurs when too much material is lost, or if checkmate appears unavoidable. A game may also result in a draw in several ways.
Chess is played on a square board of eight rows (called ranks and denoted with numbers 1 to 8) and eight columns (called files and denoted with letters a to h). The colors of the 64 squares alternate and are referred to as "light" and "dark" squares. The chessboard is placed with a light square at the right-hand end of the rank nearest to each player.
By convention, the game pieces are divided into white and black sets, and the players are referred to as "White" and "Black" respectively. Each player begins the game with 16 pieces of the specified color, which consist of one king, one queen, two rooks, two bishops, two knights, and eight pawns. The pieces are set out as shown in the diagram and photo, with each queen on a square of its own color, the white queen on a light square and the black queen on a dark.
Chess is believed to have originated in India, some time before the 7th century, being derived from the Indian game of chaturanga. Chaturanga is also the likely ancestor of the Eastern strategy games xiangqi, janggi and shogi. The pieces took on their current powers in Spain in the late 15th century; the rules were finally standardized in the 19th century. The first generally recognized World Chess Champion, Wilhelm Steinitz, claimed his title in 1886. Since 1948, the World Championship has been controlled by FIDE, the game's international governing body; the current World Champion is the Norwegian Magnus Carlsen. FIDE also organizes the Women's World Championship, the World Junior Championship, the World Senior Championship, the Blitz and Rapid World Championships and the Chess Olympiad, a popular competition among teams from different nations. There is also a Correspondence Chess World Championship and a World Computer Chess Championship. Online chess has opened amateur and professional competition to a wide and varied group of players. There are also many chess variants, with different rules, different pieces, and different boards.
FIDE awards titles to skilled players, the highest of which is grandmaster. Many national chess organizations also have a title system. However, these are not recognised by FIDE. The term "master" may refer to a formal title or may be used more loosely for any skilled player.
Until recently, chess was a recognized sport of the International Olympic Committee;some national sporting bodies such as the Spanish Consejo Superior de Deportesalso recognize chess as a sport.Chess was included in the 2006 and 2010 Asian Games.
Since the second half of the 20th century, computers have been programmed to play chess with increasing success, to the point where the strongest home computers play chess at a higher level than the best human players. Since the 1990s, computer analysis has contributed significantly to chess theory, particularly in the endgame. The computer IBM Deep Blue was the first machine to overcome a reigning World Chess Champion in a match when it defeated Garry Kasparov in 1997. The rise of strong computer programs (known as "engines") that can be run on hand-held devices has led to increasing concerns about cheating during tournaments. शतरंज (चैस) दो खिलाड़ियों के बीच खेला जाने वाला एक बौद्धिक एवं मनोरंजक खेल है। किसी अज्ञात बुद्धि-शिरोमणि ने पाँचवीं-छठी सदी में यह खेल संसार के बुद्धिजीवियों को भेंट में दिया। समझा जाता है कि यह खेल मूलतः भारत का आविष्कार है, जिसका प्राचीन नाम था- 'चतुरंग'; जो भारत से अरब होते हुए यूरोप गया और फिर १५/१६वीं सदी में तो पूरे संसार में लोकप्रिय और प्रसिद्ध हो गया। इस खेल की हर चाल को लिख सकने से पूरा खेल कैसे खेला गया इसका विश्लेषण अन्य भी कर सकते हैं। शतरंज एक चौपाट (बोर्ड) के ऊपर दो व्यक्तियों के लिये बना खेल है। चौपाट के उपर कुल ६४ खाने या वर्ग होते है, जिसमें ३२ चौरस काले या अन्य रंग ओर ३२ चौरस सफेद या अन्य रंग के होते है। खेलने वाले दोनों खिलाड़ी भी सामान्यतः काला और सफेद कहलाते हैं। प्रत्येक खिलाड़ी के पास एक राजा, वजीर, दो ऊँट, दो घोडे, दो हाथी और आठ सैनिक होते है। बीच में राजा व वजीर रहता है। बाजू में ऊँट, उसके बाजू में घोड़े ओर अंतिम कतार में दो दो हाथी रहते है। उनकी अगली रेखा में आठ पैदल या सैनिक रहते हैं। चौपाट रखते समय यह ध्यान दिया जाता है कि दोनो खिलाड़ियों के दायें तरफ का खाना सफेद होना चाहिये तथा वजीर के स्थान पर काला वजीर काले चौरस में व सफेद वजीर सफेद चौरस में होना चाहिये। खेल की शुरुआत हमेशा सफेद खिलाड़ी से की जाती है। शतरंज सबसे पुराने व लोकप्रिय पट (बोर्ड) में से एक है, जो दो प्रतिद्वंदीयों द्वारा एक चौकोर पट (बोर्ड) पर खेला जाता है, जिसपर विशेष रूप से बने दो अलग-अलग रंगों के सामन्यात: सफ़ेद व काले मोहरे होते हैं। सफ़ेद पहले चलता है, जिसके बाद खेलाडी निर्धारित नियमों के अनुसार एक के बाद एक चालें चलते हैं। इसके बाद खिलाड़ी विपक्षी के प्रमुख मोहरें, राजा को शाह-मात (एक ऐसी अवस्था, जिसमें पराजय से बचना असंभव हो) देने का प्रयास कराते हैं। शतरंज 64 खानों के पट या शतरंजी पर खेला जाता है, जो रैंक (दर्जा) कहलाने वाली आठ अनुलंब पंक्तियों व फाइल (कतार) कहलाने वाली आठ आड़ी पंक्तियों में व्यवस्थित होता है। ये खाने दो रंगों, एक हल्का, जैसे सफ़ेद, मटमैला, पीला और दूसरा गहरा, जैसे काला, या हरा से एक के बाद दूसरे की स्थिति में बने होते हैं। पट्ट दो प्रतिस्पर्धियों के बीच इस प्रकार रखा जाता है कि प्रत्येक खिलाड़ी की ओर दाहिने हाथ के कोने पर हल्के रंग वाला खाना हो। सफ़ेद हमेशा पहले चलता है। इस प्रारंभिक कदम के बाद, खिलाड़ी बारी बारी से एक बार में केवल एक चाल चलते हैं (सिवाय जब "केस्लिंग" में दो टुकड़े चले जाते हैं)। चाल चल कर या तो एक खाली वर्ग में जाते हैं या एक विरोधी के मोहरे वाले स्थान पर कब्जा करते हैं और उसे खेल से हटा देते हैं। खिलाड़ी कोई भी ऐसी चाल नहीं चल सकते जिससे उनका राजा हमले में आ जाये। यदि खिलाड़ी के पास कोई वैध चाल नहीं बची है, तो खेल खत्म हो गया है; यह या तो एक मात है - यदि राजा हमले में है - या एक गतिरोध या शह - यदि राजा हमले में नहीं है। हर शतरंज का टुकड़ा बढ़ने की अपनी शैली है।



अभिभावक संग स्कूल जाने वाले बच्चे ज्यादा खुश रहते हैं क्योंकि-

  • उनके अंदर अन्य बच्चों की अपेक्षा आत्मविश्वास अधिक होता है।
  • उनमें बातें साझा करने की क्षमता भी बढ़ती है।
  • अकेलेपन का बोध नहीं रहता है।
  • उपर्युक्त सभी